Divanee Magazine Editors Blog

Because we love gup shup. Visit Divanee.com.

May I take your order, please?

Do you use a code name? One of the few things that bothers me is the gross mis-pronunciation of my name. My father heard the name years before I was born and decided when he had a daughter he would name her Miral. It's not mee-rull, or meryl. But, mih-rall.

Is it really that hard?

Apparently, yes.

When making dinner reservations or waiting for an order I no longer user my real name, but my fake name. I started out using 'Ayesha'…but that annoyed my sister, so I changed it to Jacquelin.

Sometimes, I say, Jackie. Sometimes, the person behind the counter gives me a puzzled look. It's the same look I get from people when they ask me where I'm from and I respond, 'New Jersey.'

Maybe, next time I'll use Omar. Or Amir. Or Farukh.

June 22, 2006 - Posted by | RandomDesi

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

